Aquarium Controllers

Is anyone in the club using an aquarium controller like digital aquatics or apex? I’m on the fence with getting one. I’m using power strips nd timers now. I do have a heater controller. My tank is a simple mixed reef. I have a sump. A return pump. A skimmer. 1 wave maker. A heater. Marine orbit led with its own controller on display tank. An a led fuge light on a timer. I don’t dose. Haven’t had any real issues other then heater fail. So I guessing I’m really asking do u think I really “need” one. Input would b greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I have been using a DA Reef keeper for over 10 yrs and like the easy way of controlling all the equipment on my tank.The newer models have many more features included on them now. Do some research about the different brands out there before you make a final decision.

I’m leaning towards the da. Marinedepot has it for 199 w/ ph probe. I like idea of expandablity with the apex but will I ever use it to full potential?! What do I really “need” to monitor. I don’t want to spent 1000s of dollars on a system. Nd the apex modules/probes seem to b very pricey. I kno u get what u pay for but I don’t wanna break the bank.

I currently have an APEX controller. I am very happy with it. Programming and upgrading are easy. There is a lot of help on line and I have never had an issue with customer service. They have a lot of devices that you can add on as well as DYI’s. To interface or view the controller, they have 3 methods. Phone APP, Fusion (cloud), Web page. I used them to check on the system on vacation or to turn on and off pumps for water changes / feeding , get emails when parameters are out of wack, auto top off . The controller brings everything together under one interface. I have never had a failure of the controller. Do I “need it” no but it does make working with the tank a lot easier.