DIY Drill a Glass Tank

[size=10pt][color=blue]When a Fellow Reefer needed a hole drilled it seemed like the perfect opportunity to explain how to drill a glass tank. The pictures below are from Cdangel0 75-gallon build along with his 20 long fuge tank.
One of the first requirements to even starting this project is to determine if you are capable of doing it. It will require tools (diamond bit, drill) and a lot of patience. This is one job where it is not a race to the finish.

Disclaimer: Drill your tank at your own risk. I am a Diy’er and have done this with a lot of tanks but I am no expert. These are the technics I used and they worked for me; they may not work for you.

[size=10pt][color=black]Determine if the tank can be drilled.

[color=blue]Not every tank can be drilled. There are standard plate glass and tempered glass tanks. Some manufactures label their tanks but a lot do not. If you are unsure contact the manufacturer or search on the internet. DO NOT DRILL UNTIL YOU ARE SURE. The difference becomes apparent if you have ever broken both types of glass. Tempered glass breaks in a unique way. If any part of the glass fails, the entire panel shatters at once. This distinguishes it from normal glass, which might experience a small crack or localized breakage from an isolated impact. Tempered glass might also fail long after the event that caused the failure. Stresses continue to play until the defect erupts, triggering breakage of the entire panel. http://www.youtube.com/swf/l.swf?video_id=8uigdnhUsns&rel=1&eurl=&iurl=http%3A//i1.ytimg.com/vi/8uigdnhUsns/default.jpg&t=OEgsToPDskIjUdHUf-YPVSzCLlRjPHXK&use_get_video_info=1&load_modules=1&fs=&hl=en Although the video uses a Dremel the principal is the same; If you drill a tempered tank it will shatter.