HELP!! How can I seed dead rock???

Hi…

So I am new to all of this and currently I have a 75 gallon tank with about 6 or 7 pounds of live rock in it and a lil bity green crab. I was gonna purchased 65 lbs. of cured live rock from someone on Ebay however they are a few states away from me so I was told that it may not be so “live” once I recieve it. I also got a deal on 100 lbs. of dead rock from a local hobbyist. If I was to purchase the rock from both people that is 165 lbs. of live rock (not counting my 6 or 7 lbs.)!! Will my 75 gallon tank hold that much and how do I go about seeding the rock? How long will it take? Should I wait until the rock is fully seeded before I add fish and what about my crab?? Will he be able to survive it all?
:-?

Iv used Garf grunge before and like it. www.garf.org

Okay, where to start…

I would go with the dry rock, it is gonna be cheaper. 100 lbs is probably more than you need(I’d go with around 65lbs dry), so maybe you can sell a bit to recoup some cost. As far as seeding, I would purchase an additional 15 lbs of high quality live rock (80 lbs total) and throw it in with it. It will cycle a bit, the seeding process will take a couple of months. Keep the fish load really low until then. Your crab will probably be okay. Hope this helps, and of course just my opinion.

Joe

[quote=“lagoler, post:1, topic:1190”]
I was gonna purchased 65 lbs. of cured live rock from someone on Ebay however they are a few states away[/quote]

If it is truely LR, the shipment should not kill it unless you have it sent via the Pony Express. Just lightly brush off the dead/decaying stuff on the surface in a seperate container of salt water and place in the tank.

[quote=“lagoler, post:1, topic:1190”]
Will my 75 gallon tank hold that much and how do I go about seeding the rock?[/quote]