Jack Dempsey Spawning

Hey im kinda new to fish having babies, but would hate to see all of them die. They hatched and they are all wiggling in an area they dug up. Should i do anything, scoop them up put them in a nursery? any advice would be great, till then back to googling

any other fish in the tank with them? usually cichlids r excellent parents… even if they decide to eat the first spawn, they wont wait long to lay another. sometimes the other fish may eat the babies when they start swimming about. but im sure the dempseys will keep them at bay for quite awhile… i would say let em go, see how they manage. its normally a pretty hands off deal for the keeper.

there are blood cichlids in it, cat fish etc… they are moving the fry every hour to a new spot. i guess ill leavem this time, ive read as you stated they do lay em alot

well there are alot of swimmers now. i got about 1/4 of them out into a breeder tank. and left the rest with the parents. anxious to see how this turns out

Cool…any pics? I’m not into freshwater, but I’ve seen some cool freshwater fish lately…making me rethink it.

HERES A VID!!!

if anyone wants one when they grow up a little like an inch and eating flake foods let me know

Thanks for uploading the vid! My connection seems to be sucking here now or my macbook is sucking, so it doesn’t seem to want to play, but I’ll check it out tomorrow morning!

Very nice - that is a crap load of baby fish!!!

I’d offer to take some but I have a BIG oscar and a big JD already that would make anything less then 3" a food item.

[quote=“Cdangel0, post:9, topic:1956”]
Very nice - that is a crap load of baby fish!!![/quote]

+1 looks like there are a ton of 'em!

Yea there are like 200 lol the tank is full of them!!!

Pretty cool. A Dempsey was one of the first fish I ever got. I loved that guy. Pretty sure I lost it to a disease brought in by a feeder fish. :frowning: