Juan C. Saavedra the new latino guy at the meeting...

Hey everyone, my name is Juan C. Saavedra and I have been breeding and keeping Central American cichlids for about 18 years now. Recently, I got involved with some clubs that sparked my interested for other fish and invertebrates in the aquarium hobby. Now I’m looking at starting some coral, so any helpful pointers with be appreciated. I have had saltwater tanks with fish before, but never coral.

I think the biggest difference between fish-only tanks and reef tanks are the lighting and water movement requirements that you need to meet. In addition, corals and inverts can be hundreds of times more sensitive to water conditions. Your cichlids might not even notice nitrates or temperature swings but the same changes could kill your corals. I’ll briefly go over some basics but you obviously want to research this on your own. I’m sure someone will post some links. Let’s talk about lights.

During our meeting, you probably overheard us talking about the new LED light technology and whether it could be viable. The reason we’re interested is because the current lights we use consume a lot of electricity and can generate tremendous amounts of heat. Bulbs have different ratings that relay the spectrum they emit and how intense they are. For example, I use a 150 watt, 14k metal halide on my 24 gallon tank. The only reason I bring up the numbers is to illustrate the point that every single person in the club knows what type of lighting they are using and what type of livestock it can support (information the LED producers are oddly keeping secret from the public.) If you give us information on how big your tank is and what you’d like to eventually keep, we can definitely recommend some lighting choices for you.