New 29gal, DIY Sump + Overflow box

Hello, all! I’m very new to this hobby YahoO (also coincidentally to this forum), and have been working diligently/patiently on my new tank for about 3 months now. I have a few pictures documenting my build, and I’m hoping to get a better understanding on what I may be doing wrong (or what I need to start doing right, rather) before my newbie-ness becomes detrimental to my tank. Pics will follow shortly.

Stats on the tank:
29 gallon reef setup
Overflow box (design from melevesreef(dot)com)
260gph Koralia powerhead
2.5" Live sand bed
10 gallon sump w/ bubble trap + refugium
500gph sump return pump
ASM Mini-G in-sump protein skimmer
30lbs Fiji/pacific live rock

Refugium has 3" Live sand bed, 2 lbs Fiji Live rock . . . Macro Algae to come, haven’t decided which kind to get as of yet.

Like I said, I’ll be posting pics later. Thanks for any advice in advance!

Well first off - Welcome to the club!!!

Secondly - you’re not doing anything wrong.

Now a couple of things - it’s ook to list melevs site here- we try not to be too finicky about other reef sites. besides, Melev’s is awesome.

A 10g sump/fuge combo does make me a little nervous as it doesn’t provide much of either function. You’re going to end uo topping off everyday or twice a day in the summer months due to evaporation. Any fuge is better than no fuge, but when you add macro you want to be able to give it room to grow.

I understand that space underneath the stand is probably the reasoning for a small sump, but maybe you want to consider putting the sump underneath, then pump up ABOVE the display tank to a seperate fuge. Personally I like the look of an exposed fuge. I think the fuge offers just as much to see as the display tank.