Used sump = bad results on reef tank. need help...

I am new on the forum this is my first real post since I have been viewing these forums. I am still pretty new to saltwater. It has been a learning experience to say the least and a match stick in the wallet.

Here is my problem.
I have a 20G long nano reef tank. I just bought a used sump setup for it. got all the stuff I needed after I cleaned and scrubbed it( no chemicals used) set it all up and now all of my corals look like they are basically dying of some major shock. The water now also has a nasty smell I never had before. Jared said I should have used vinegar so I decided after a bit of thought to remove the sump and do what Jared said about using vinegar to clean it.

I do not know how much vinegar to water ratio I am supposed to use or if there is any other steps to cleaning this so I can put it back into operation. Also should I run the sump on a loop with a bucket to clean the pump? I am also doing a 4 1/2 gallon water change within the next hour, I already put my HOB filter , HOB skimmer back on the tank.

What do you guys think? Sorry if this is a bit jumbled I am multi tasking with my kid and this problem and this post verdict_in
Another thread to come of current tank setups in members section after I get this all settled… Save the trach!!

We need a of information to help determine the cause, first off all your water parameters, how long has the tank been set up, have you added anything, what lighting do you have over your coral, what coral do you have, what piping did you use to the sump, glues involved?

You can wash a tank with straight vinegar if you just make sure to rinse it thoroughly. Used tanks are dicey to me because if someone used a lot of copper medication the tank is compromised, the first sign of this would be invert die off.

What else was added with the sump? Skimmer? Rock? ect?