New Member - initial setup 75 gal Reef Tank

Hello, my name is Will and i’m new to the website. First, let me use the awesome fish emoticon!!! <

I posted basically the same thing on TheReefTank.com… but I wanted to post here since this is for local Delaware residents.

I’m also new to Reef Tanks in general. I’ve done quite a bit of research, and even stopped by my LFS and talked with the owner. He’s a REALLY knowledgable guy who seems to be trying to steer me in the right direction. Obviously everyone on the internet has a lot of different opinions on the different types of products to use. So, i’m hoping you guys will give me your opinion on what to use, what not to use, and your past experiences. I’ve read through most of the posts and forums on here that apply to what I’m trying to do.

The basic goal, is to have a nice 75 gallon reef tank setup… with mostly anenemies and bright vibrant coral. We also want a cleaner crew, and a few fish that will integrate properly with the coral and anenemies in the tank. The fish will probably be the last thing we put in the tank. We’re prepared to be PATIENT and don’t expect much for the first 6 months. I know i’ll have to cycle the tank and that could take 1-2 months to get everything right. I’m ok with that. The most important thing for us is to do it right, and learn a lot along the way so we can enjoy this tank for many years. This will be a project for my wife, myself and my 2 kids (4 year old daughter and 7 year old son). Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Ive already purchased the 75 gallon tank and stand we wanted. I’ve attached a picture of the tank and stand. The stand itself is open in the middle, with (2) cabinet doors… one on each side. The space there should be enough to house any filtration system I want to add. I’ve been thinking of going with a canister filter setup, but have also been looking into the eshopps refugium and sump setup (its small enough to fit in there also).

What I have: